Most Commented Stories

Most Viewed Stories

What is this?

Save & Share this Article

LITTLE LEAGUE: O-L softball, Marysville baseball take titles

Danika Martin did it all for the Olivehurst-Linda Heat on Sunday night.

She struck out 13 batters in a complete-game effort and knocked in the go-ahead run in an 8-4 victory over the Marysville Angels to win the District 2 Little League minor softball Tournament of Champions at Tom Abe Field in Wheatland, the Heat's second straight title.

Martin hit a two-run triple in the fifth inning to break a 3-3 tie. Madison Netto and Carly Lay each added RBI singles for O-L.

Marysville's Ashley Berhard was 2 for 2 with two runs scored.

The Heat got to the championship by defeating the Sutter Buttes Riptide 15-0 on Friday night.

Martin, Myra Hinojosa and Haley Rogers combined to throw a two-hitter.

Martin hit a grand slam, while Rogers, Daisy Hill and Courtney Hruska each added a hit and scored twice for the Heat.


Marysville 8, Sutter Buttes 3

J.J. Mendez drove in two runs with a triple, Jason Bates added an RBI double and the Marysville Giants topped the Sutter Buttes A's to take the District 2 minor baseball TOC at Earle Yorton Field in Marysville on Sunday night.

Marysville went undefeated to take the tournament title.


Olivehurst-Linda 8, Marysville 7

Nathan Furr was 5 for 5 with two RBIs and four runs scored for O-L in the District 2 junior baseball tournament at Marysville High.

Aric Cortez was 4 for 5 with four RBIs, Matt Parkerson was 2 for 5 and Mark Rodriguez scored twice for Olivehurst-Linda.

Wurm Logan knocked in four runs and was 3 for 4 with a run scored for Marysville. David Duncan was also 3 for 4 and scored three times.

Bobby Echevarra was 2 for 2 and Zack Harrison had an RBI for Marysville.

See archived 'Top Stories' Stories »

What to do...


List goes here...
Site    Web Search powered by Google